AK Bycatch Advisory Council sets Sept. meeting; Bycatch Town Hall at Kodiak

Salmon and crab bycatch research, management top the meeting agenda.

by | August 8, 2023

Progress reports will be given on several Task Force recommendations

The six-member Alaska Bycatch Advisory Council will hold a virtual meeting on Tuesday, September 5th beginning at 9 AM Alaska time.

Here is the link to join the webinar by computer: https://us06web.zoom.us/j/85208964223 

Dial in by phone: +1 253 215 8782 

Webinar ID: 852 0896 4223 

Meeting Agenda

Bycatch town hall with top ADF&G officials planned at Kodiak

ADF&G Commissioner Doug Vincent-Lang and Deputy Commissioner Rachel Baker plan to be in Kodiak September 19-20 and a town hall meeting on bycatch is scheduled for Tuesday, September 19th beginning at 6:30 PM at the Koniag facility on Near Island.

“Updates on preliminary information from the Gulf of Alaska Tanner crab survey will be provided by ADF&G staff, along with a report on bycatch-related issues being addressed by the North Pacific Fishery Management Council,” said Bycatch Advisory Council chair Linda Kozak of Kodiak.

She added that groups or individuals who wish to request a meeting with Commissioner Vincent-Lang or Deputy Commissioner Baker while they are in town should communicate directly with Kari Winkel in the commissioner’s office at kari.winkel@alaska.gov or at 907-465-6141.

“Don’t hesitate to get in touch with me if you have questions or need more information,” Kozak said. lindakozak@gmail.com

Bycatch Advisory Council Members

Linda Kozak of Kodiak was chair of the AK Bycatch Task Force Gulf of Alaska and Bering Sea Crab Committee. She owns a fishery consulting service and served on the task force as a representative of halibut fishermen. Kozak also is on the board of United Fishermen of Alaska.

Kevin Delaney was on the AK Bycatch Task Force Gulf of Alaska Halibut and Salmon Committee. He represents personal use and sport fishermen and is the founder of Delaney Outdoors, a fishery consulting firm he opened in 2010. He was the director for ADF&G’s Division of Sport Fish from 2005 to 2010.

Brian Gabriel was chair of the task force Gulf of Alaska Halibut and Salmon Committee. He has been the mayor of the City of Kenai since 2016 and previously held a seat on the city council for six years.

Stephanie Madsen was co-chair of the task force Western AK Salmon Committee. She represents the trawl sector and is the Executive Director for the At-Sea Processors Association. Madsen is a former chair of the North Pacific Fishery Management Council and currently serves on the Council’s Ecosystem Committee.

Karma Ulvi also was on the Western AK Salmon committee and serves as the subsistence representative from a Yukon River community. She is the Chief of the Native Village of Eagle and the Tribal Administrator with Tanana Chiefs Conference.

John Jensen of Petersburg was Chair of the AK Bycatch Review Task Force. He has over a half century of experience in Alaska’s commercial fishing industry and is serving his seventh term on the Alaska Board of Fisheries. Jensen also was appointed to the North Pacific Fishery Management Council in 2018.

Click HERE to see the AK Bycatch Task Force Recommendations

Tagged as:

About Laine

Laine Welch has covered the Alaska fish beat for print and radio since 1988. She also has worked “behind the counter” at retail and wholesale seafood companies in Kodiak and on Cape Cod.


You May Also Like

Pin It on Pinterest