Two members added to AK Bycatch Council

The AK Bycatch Council includes voices from Southeast to the Arctic.

by | March 4, 2024

Group is tasked with turning bycatch recommendations into realities

Erik Velsko of Homer and Eva Dawn Burk have joined the Alaska Bycatch Council, a group created in 2023 by ADF&G Commissioner Doug Vincent-Lang to help advance the recommendations outlined by the AK Bycatch Review Task Force (ABRT).

Velsko currently is involved in the Bristol Bay salmon fishery, halibut and sablefish IFQ, state Tanner crab, and Pacific cod pot fisheries. Erik  served on the NPFMC’s Advisory Panel from 2019–2021. He is a member of the NPFMC’s IFQ Committee, and is Vice President of the North Pacific Fisheries Association.  

This image has an empty alt attribute; its file name is erik.png

Eva Dawn Burk  is Dene’ Athabascan from Nenana and Manley Hot Springs, along the Tanana River. She grew up commercial and subsistence fishing and leads her community’s annual fish camp in Nenana. She has a background in engineering and environmental studies, and previously worked on onshore and offshore resource development projects for ASRC Energy Services.

This image has an empty alt attribute; its file name is eva.png

“I look forward to having their added voices to our discussions as we review and recommend bycatch implementation measures to the Commissioner,” said Linda Kozak, Bycatch Council chair. 

Other Council members include Kevin Delaney, Stephanie Madsen, Brian Gabriel, Karma Ulvi and John Jensen.

Below is more information on the Alaska Bycatch Advisory Council. Its next meeting is April 16.

AK Bycatch Advisory Council created by Commissioner’s Order


Tagged as:

About Laine

Laine Welch has covered the Alaska fish beat for print and radio since 1988. She also has worked “behind the counter” at retail and wholesale seafood companies in Kodiak and on Cape Cod.


You May Also Like

Pin It on Pinterest